Update: I Moved To Melbourne!

Hello beautiful people,

I MOVED TO MELBOURNE! Well, kind of, temporarily at least. Basically I’m going to Monash University in Melbourne for the next 3 years. I’ve been here for almost a month now and have yet to post something about the big move; it’s been a bit of a mad rush, I must admit, but things are starting to calm down a little bit now so here we are!

On the 14th of September I got a call saying that my Australian student visa had been granted and issued. Literally a call that changed my life forever. For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been trying to go to university since September 2014 but due to visa’s and other things out of my control, the process has been filled with a lot of disappointment. But finally, here I am and it was definitely worth the somewhat painful wait.

My flight was booked and on the 20th of September I headed for Melbourne (I had already missed my orientation and my first week of classes but whatevs). My 24 hour travel day began with a flight from Nairobi-Dubai (5 hrs 15 mins) then a 5 hour layover (it’s really not as long as it sounds, by the time I left the plane, took a train AND a bus to my terminal, went through security, walked around a little and bought a few magazines, I only had 2 hours left). The last leg of the journey was a 13 hour flight from Dubai-Melbourne. That was the longest flight i’ve ever been on but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, apart from a little leg cramping of course.

‘All good things take time’- something that everyone has been telling me for the past 2 years as I waited and was let down over and over again. At the time this is something you obviously don’t want to hear and don’t understand but once the wait is over, I can definitely say that this is true. I haven’t been here very long but I can honestly say that right now I am where I have really always wanted to be and i’m very excited to see what living in Melbourne has in store for me.


I can’t wait to share my experiences and lessons that I learn along the way with all of you. Here’s to new beginnings!


Sending you lots of good vibes,

-D

xx

Leave a Reply

