Do what makes you happy!

About a week ago, I was bored as hell on a cold morning and while trying to find something to entertain myself with, I ended up doing something I had not done in a very long time and it actually ended up changing my day completely, and for the better I might add. I picked up a piece of sheet music that I found in my old A level music folder and started reading it and then proceeded to do a vocal warm up and eventually I sang a few songs from the sheet music I had found. I have not read music in probably over a year or something ridiculous like that and for the life of me, I can’t find a valid reason for why that is. Music has always been the most important and most constant love of my life. I am lucky enough to have parents who sent me to the best schools and I always had the freedom to explore whatever avenue I wanted in terms of my interests. I chose music. I doubt anything or anyone will ever make me feel the way that it does and yet I am able to put it on the back burner for a whole year? Why is that? Why is it that we do not put our own enjoyment and happiness first when happiness is really the most important thing on earth, or at least it is to me.

Reading music is a skill that I am lucky enough to possess. It is, however, also a skill that can easily be forgotten and I would absolutely hate for that to happen. I’ve been learning to read music since I was a little kid because I’ve always played instruments and it is something that I have gotten better and better with as the years have gone by due to a lot of practice. I stopped that practice when I left high school, mostly because life got in the way and I never really thought I was good enough at it to carry it on in to my ‘adult’ life. Looking back, that was an incredibly stupid thought to have!

If something makes you happy, you should spend as much time as you can doing it. Be it working out, painting, working, reading or making music, if it makes you happy that’s what you should be spending your time doing.

Linked below is my Soundcloud page where I have recently started posting some of my covers on. I hope to start doing this on a regular basis from now on (this is me taking my own advice for once). Go on to my page, listen to the covers I’ve done, look out for new ones and please let me know what you think!

Sending you lots of good vibes,

-D

xx

 

2 thoughts on “Do what makes you happy!

Leave a Reply

