Happy birthday to me!

Hello Beautiful people,

On the 18th of May, I turned 20 years old! I spent my day feeding giraffes and drinking cocktails with one of my best friend. It was nothing short of an incredible day. From receiving birthday messages, calls, Facebook and Instagram posts, I certainly felt the love and it left me feeling very grateful for the people in my life.

As I said above, the first part of my fay was spent feeding Giraffes at the Giraffe Centre in Karen, Nairobi. I used to go there all the time on school trips (perks of growing up in Kenya) but I have not been there in yeeears! It is the most breathtaking place and I don’t know why I never make the trip out to Karen to feed those beautiful animals. I feel that I, and many other Kenyans take for granted the country we’ve been blessed with and don’t really realise just how lucky we are to have something like that practically in our back yard! The costs for a day (For a Kenyan resident adult) is just 250 shillings and that is a pretty fair price that I think a lot of people can afford. So if you live in Nairobi or you’re visiting , please make the trip out to The Giraffe Centre, I promise it will be worth it!

I am, and have always been, someone who is completely obsessed with their birthday. No seriously.If I was president, I would declare it a public holiday and have one huge party so that people can have fun and spend it with people they love. It’s never really been about the partying or the ‘going out’ that’s associated with a birthday. To me the most important thing about my birthday is that I spend it with people who I love and who love me, that is why I’m so obsessed with it. I mean, the presents and the nice things that people say about me don’t hurt either, but you get what I mean!

So here’s to having lived for 2 decades! And here’s to my 20’s, may they be full of fun and full of valuable lessons.

Sending you lots of good vibes,

-D

xx

Leave a Reply

