Gap Year Diaries #4 – Debra returns to Amsterdam

Hello Beautiful people,

I’m back in Amsterdam! Surprise, surprise. At this rate they should just give me a 5 year visa. Well I thought that since this lovely gap year has been dropped into my lap, I might as well do some travelling while I have the chance and the time. And before the time comes when I have to pay for my own travel (my dad paid for this trip because well, I don’t have a job that pays). So after a few months of trying to plan everything and convince my dad to let me go on this trip, It finally happened! I got all my documents ready and headed for the Netherlands embassy in Nairobi to submit my papers for my visa. It took 2 weeks this time around instead of 4 days because it had to be sent to the regional office in Pretoria, South Africa.

img_20150218_160937

After the longest 2 weeks of my life, I went to the embassy to collect my passport. I have never been so scared in my life. Did they deny my visa? Will my passport even have returned from South Africa? – these were just a few of the questions going through my mind on the drive over to the embassy. Luckily for me (And for my sanity), the embassy is only a short 10 minute drive from my house. But all the worrying was for nothing because my passport had made it back to Kenya and with a visa in it, Thank God!

Kenya

After all the stress and the panicking, my dad booked my flight, my ticket was emailed to me and yesterday morning I woke up at 5am (I was basically sleepwalking) and began the long trek to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. After 100 years of waiting in line to to get through security, I boarded my 8 hour Kenya Airways flight to Amsterdam. When I came out of the terminal, my best friend Inez was waiting for me with a rose, a balloon and of course, the biggest glass of beer I’ve ever seen! Best welcome I’ve ever had.

IMG_20150511_192256
This is Inez being a cutie.

I will be in the Netherlands for the next month (Till the 8th of June) and I will definitely be updating you and posting about anything I get up to that might be of interest to you. If any of you live in Amsterdam, I would love to meet you πŸ™‚

Sending you lots of good vibes,

-D

xx

Leave a Reply

