Gap Year Diaries #1- Finding A Job

Hello beautiful people,

So for those of you who might not know, I am currently on an unexpected, completely unplanned gap year. Because this was not my original plan, I had no idea what to do with this new large amount of time that I now had on my hands. And so, the job hunt began. I did research for ages, looking for any paying intern ships or any volunteering programs that I might be interested in and I found loads. The only problem was, they were all overseas and costed $1000 and above which is something I was not too happy about. So I started looking for jobs that were closer to home. I thought about the things that I enjoy to do, which is exactly what you should be doing during a gap year.I sent out email after email to magazines, art galleries and schools and Β FINALLY a woman from my old primary school replied and we quickly set up a meeting. She said they needed a little bit of help in their costume shop (where they store all their costumes from previous plays that are now available for hire). They asked me if I would catalogue the costumes as it had never been done before, just so they could have an idea of how many they have. I said I was happy to do it. Anything to get out of the house,right? They also asked if I would help out in the theatre and of course I was happy to. After all, having an internship in one of East Africa’s biggest and most well known schools can only be a good thing for me.

braeburn_schools_main_theartre
The Braeburn Theatre

I got the job! This marks the end of my fourth week working at the Braeburn theatre and Total Escapade (the costume shop at the school) and I have to say, I’m enjoying it way more than I thought I would. I have always been a huge theatre fan and have acted in many plays at the Braeburn theatre myself, while I was a student there and after. Being back at Braeburn as staff and not a student shows me just how lucky and privileged I was to be able to go to a school like that.

If any of you find yourself having to take a gap year, unplanned or not, and you want to find a job to fill your time, find something that you enjoy and Β look for things you would not mind doing every single day. Work experience is always a great thing. Take every opportunity that comes your way, you never know what it could lead to.

Sending you lots of good vibes,

-D

xx

Leave a Reply

