Westlands Triangle Market, Nairobi

Hello beautiful people,

On what seemed to be one of the hottest Saturdays yet, my mum, my sister and I made the trek into the traffic stricken area of Nairobi called Westlands to pick up a few things for my sister to take back to South Africa with her.

The Westlands triangle market is in the middle of three roads Westlands, leaving it in the shape of a triangle. From bags to kikoy and kanga material to bracelets, rare old coins, pipes,even African drums and an amazing array of artwork. All can be found at the Westlands triangle market. Usually a pretty busy part of town, especially on a Saturday, the market seemed to lack the human traffic it usually deems. Meaning that all the shop attendants were idle and excited to see some customers admiring their shops. ‘Excuse me madam’, ‘Take a look’ ‘Looking is free’

What I bought:

Although the main purpose of this impromptu shopping trip was for my sister to buy things, I took advantage of the opportunity and purchased some really nice things.

1.) KENYA FLAG BRACELET:

I had been wanting to get one of these for a while but never found myself having the time or being in a place where they are sold. well, on Saturday I was. #patriotism

IMG_0100 IMG_0101

2.) A SILVER ARM CUFF:

I love love love arm cuffs but happened to give my only one away to a friend of mine who was leaving Kenya a few years back and never had the time to replace it, probably out of sheer laziness.

3.) SMALL KANGA PATCHWORK CLUTCH:

Who doesn’t love a bit of kanga patchwork? I seem to have inherited my mum’s obsession/ addiction to buying bags..oops. Not that I mind because it means I get to have pretty things like this in my closet πŸ™‚

IMG_0095

If you’re ever in Nairobi, I highly recommend going to the Westlands triangle market if you have the chance. It’s an amazing place to get gifts or just to buy yourself some amazing art work or jewellery.

Sending you lots of good vibes,

-D

xx

2 thoughts on “Westlands Triangle Market, Nairobi

Leave a Reply

