Things I Learned While Trying To Get A UK Student Visa.

Hello beautiful people,

As you may or may not know, I graduated from high school in June of last year and as many students in the same position do, started to think about where I was going to go to university. I decided on the University of the West of England in Bristol, United Kingdom where I got an unconditional offer and a scholarship. After months of planning and signing/filling in a ridiculous amount of forms,everything was finally ready. Apart from the most important thing of all…my student visa.

1424265140126

Here are a few things I learned from my sort of less than perfect visa process:

1.) Wear comfortable clothes/ shoes on the day of your visa appointment. You’re going to be there for a while.

2.) Always make friends with the security guards at the visa centre because they will give you special treatment.

3.) Don’t take it personally when the person on the other side of the counter seems cold and completely not bothered with you. Maybe they’re working in exchange for a British visa themselves, who knows?

4.) Always have all your documents ready and in the correct order or the woman serving you will scowl and tell you to “come back when you’re more prepared”. RUDE.

giphy

5.) Always photocopy all important documents in your house because trust me, you WILL lose at least one of them at some point.

The next two might just be the most important ones of all:

6.) Budget an extra 2 days for how long they tell you the visa process will take. (4 if it’s a woman) lol

7.) Always, ALWAYS have a back up plan just in case you’re one of the unlucky ones (like myself) who gets their visa denied. Just a fair warning: You will get very anxious and stressed out by this annoying wait but try to stay calm. They will eventually contact you.

Unfortunately, I ended up not getting my student visa in September so I decided to go on a gap year instead which is an adventure in itself. I’m a strong believer that everything happens for a reason so I can’t wait to see what the next few months have in store for me!

I will, however be applying for my visa again in the course of the year and I will definitely be taking my own advice this time around! Who knows whether or not I’ll actually get it this time but fingers crossed I suppose!

#I’llBeBackBitches

Sending you lots of good vibes,

-D

xx

Leave a Reply

